Japan and Sweden signed off Social Security agreement

Japanese Version

The social security agreement has been signed off on April 11, 2019. It will be effective after approval by the Japan Diet. Under this agreement business persons between the two countries staying at the other country for less than five years will not have to join public pension scheme (nor pay premium) in both countries. They will have to do so only in their home country not in the other. Sweden will be the 22nd country which has this social security agreement with Japan, following German, UK, Korea, USA, Belgium, France, Canada, Australia, Holland, Czechia, Spain, Italy, Ireland, Brazil, Switzerland, India, Hungry, Luxembourg, Philippines, Slovakia and China. It should still take long time to tie a similar agreement with all of 196 countries around the globe. The current coverage of 22 countries would look encompassing “key” nations for Japan in business. FYI.

Links: Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare (MHLW in Japanese), Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA in English)